ections...from Page 1A

Troy Collins with 2,605 votes (43.4 percent) for Collins. (56.6 percent) to 1,994 votes "(This victory) feels

good," Byers said after she was declared the winner.



Janna Akins "Troy (Collins) and I both ran a clean campaign, he's a good guy, and I was happy with the results. "I'm looking forward to working with the people on the school board. I think Janna (Akins) is going to bring a unique perspective being an attorney, and also being a parent who has young children in the school. I think it's an exciting time with the new super-

going to be some great things happen." After the result were in, Sheriff Mason thanked the Man Upstairs, along with everyone who helped him during his re-election bid, then he discussed his approach to the next four years.

intendent and I think there's

"I want to thank Almighty God for all of his many blessings. I want to thank all of the supporters who donated their time, their money, their effort, and most of all their prayers," he said. "I also want to thank my wife, Rhonda for her hard work, dedication, and commitment. I will pledge to continue to give the best law enforcement service that we can to this county and remain 100 percent committed."

As of press time Tuesday night, Matt Gurtler was ahead in the race for the State Representative District 8 seat, but not by a majority. Gurtler received 35 percent of the vote. Kent Woerner was at 23 percent, Joshua Littrell was at 23 percent, and David Barton was at 20 percent.

In Union County, Gurtler gained 41 percent while Barton was at 34 percent. Littrell and Woerner received 13 percent and 12 percent, respectively. In the United States



Dwain Brackett



Judy Odom

Senate Race, Republican incumbent Johnny Isakson defeated Derrick Grayson and Mary Kay Bacallo with 77 percent of the vote. In Union County, Isakson gained 75 percent.

On the Democratic side, Jim Barksdale gained 53 percent to Cheryl Copeland's 43 percent. Locally, Barksdale was at 55 percent and Copeland at 40 percent. U. S. 9th District Rep.

Doug Collins (R) tallied 62 percent statewide and Paul Broun picked up 22 percent. Union County was even more favorable to Collins with 71 percent to Broun's 14 percent.

Georgia's 9th Congressional District strongly supports Collins, lifting him to victory over four primary challengers without a runoff election. Collins received 62.4 percent of the vote with 42 percent of precincts reporting as of 9:18 PM.

"I'm humbled and honored to be entrusted again to represent the voice of this district. I wake up every day committed to standing up for our deeply rooted values, curtailing the liberal agenda that seeks to weaken those values, and leaving this nation better for my children" said Col-lins. "Fighting Washington's business-as-usual is no easy task, but I will never give up the fight."

District 51 State Senator Steve Gooch (R) defeated Ellijay's John Williamson with 73 percent support statewide and 82 percent locally.

After the results were counted, Gooch personally thanked the voters of Union County.



Benny Erwin



State Sen. Steve Gooch

"Thank you so much for the confidence you've shown by re-electing me for two more years," he said. "I will continue to work hard for all of my district and make Georgia the best state that we can make it."

The Republican Public Service Commission District 2 race was a landslide in favor of incumbent Tim Echols with 69 percent to Michelle Miller's 18 percent. Union County voters also preferred Echols by a 3-to-1 margin with 66 percent to Miller's 22 percent.

Those running unopposed on both ballots were incumbent Sole Commissioner Lamar Paris (D) and his Republican challenger Harold Cook. Incumbent County Surveyor Jason Henson (R), incumbent Tax Commissioner Lee Knight (D), incumbent Superior Court Clerk Judy Odom (D), incumbent Probate Judge Dwain Brackett (I), incumbent Superior Court Judge Murphy Miller (I), incumbent Appeals Court Judges Chris McFadden (I) and Anne Elizabeth Barnes (I) were all unopposed. Incumbent Supreme Court Justice David Nahmias also ran unopposed.



Matt Gurtler



Kent Woerner



Doug Collins



U.S. Sen. Johnny Isakson



Lamar Paris



Harold Cook